First and Last

back-to-school 7

It started raining in earnest yesterday. First, a light drizzle, like an appetizer, then it bucketed down. We may have a few more hot days, but the stuffing has been knocked out of summer.

The kids started back to school yesterday. No pictures, because in Zac’s case he wouldn’t let me, and I totally forgot with Ruby. Zac’s added AP Government, Honors Chemistry and Human Anatomy to his class load.

We went to Fujiyama last night to celebrate the start of school, a Japanese restaurant where they cook dinner in front of you. The chef does tricks with eggs and beef fat. You sort of have to be there.

“Mom, you didn’t ask me about my day,” Zac chided with a smile while we sat around the table.

“Okay, Zac,” I said. “How was your first day? Tell me all about it.”

“Well, Honors Chem has only 13 students. I guess lots of kids got scared off, hearing how tough it is.”

His face portrayed mixed emotions. His voice sounded a little apprehensive but also excited. He hasn’t truly challenged himself before. I think he’s kicking the tires on his abilities like some men stroll around a sports car and think, how fast will it go if I really open ‘er up? Zac is ready to punch it. I can’t wait to see how this year goes.

“And Ruby, how was your first day?”

We both pulled back from the huge metal grill in front of us as the chef lit our food on fire.

“Well, it was good. I like my Spanish teacher. She has a good sense of humor.”

I should mention here that her teacher, fresh from Spain, spoke not a word of English on back to school night nor when we dropped Ruby off yesterday morning. Intimidating, to say the least. But perhaps total immersion will get the job done.

Ruby rode with me on the first day of school as a special treat.

“Where is Dad going?” she asked as Jonathon pulled out.

“He’s going to meet us at the school,” I said. “He wants to be there with you, too.”

“Oh,” she said. “It’s kind of embarrassing.”

I chuckled. And so it begins.

I’m praying this year is even better than the last.

 

 

One thought on “First and Last

Leave a Reply

