Tags

, , , , ,

One of Zac’s favorite shows from long ago.

The other morning, I had a conversation with a little friend of mine.

We started talking about reading the Bible.  This child rolled her eyes.

“I already know Jesus died for me,” the omniscient child said.

I smiled at the dramatics. “Oh, sure. But that’s only the beginning.” And it is. Salvation is the jumping-off point for a life of surrender and great adventure with the Lord.

The babe wasn’t finished.

“There are so many words I don’t know. I’m like, ‘What’s that mean?'”

The Bible has a lot of words. Some nearly unpronounceable, like Mephibosheth. Some of their meanings still elude us,with words like holy, sanctified and justified. Mystery surrounds “washed in the blood”. I wondered which word – or words – gave pause. I should mention how much I love words. I settled in my chair, coffee in hand, ready for a great discussion on one of my favorite subjects.

“Like constipated. What does *that* mean?”

I kept coffee from squirting out my nose. Only barely.

“Uh, I don’t think that word’s in the Bible.” I outlined the meaning of constipation. The kid laughed, too. I said the main way I learn the meaning of words was, well, *is*,  to read. A lot. You can pick up a word’s intent by the context, or words surrounding a certain term.

Which made me wonder about how I come across in daily life. Can people tell I’m a Christian by reading between the lines – picking up the context – of my actions and words? Or do they get hung up on a bad word I said about someone or to someone? Am I eroding the meaning of following Christ by the context of my life, which provides a poor setting?

I hope not. I pray not. I hope people keep reading, and the goodness of the gospel becomes clearer day by day. Let the continual surrender bring God glory.

 With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness.  Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be.  Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? – James 3:9-11

 

