Tags

, , ,

Reset button on white background

I’m finally kicking this strep/cold/cough. I went outside for a short run in the darkness. A nearly full moon glowed underneath the blanket of cloud cover. A light fog hovered in the middle air. The rain had stopped, for now.

I put all the stuff floating around in my head out for the duration. I concentrated on the wet leaves underfoot. I took in the slick sidewalks and streets. The sky glowed orange where streetlights bled onto them. I breathed in the damp fall air.

I made a decision the other day. I’m not running the half marathon in Portland this Sunday. I’ve been sick and unable to put in the miles. My head isn’t there, either; too much going on in every area of my life right now.  The timing is all wrong. In the past, this concession would have devastated me. I would have felt like all the training and planning amounted to nothing. But I’m not giving up running. I may be sidelined. As my dad likes to say, “Nothing is ever wasted.” It’s a temporary setback.

As I ran through downtown, I thanked God for getting me up this morning. I praised Him that each day is a chance for a new beginning, a fresh start. Today, I’m hitting the reset button.

It’s not over yet.

