Dark Spots

 

dark street.jpg

When I started running in the dark, it only sprinkled. Nothing major. I squinted under the streetlights. I slowed  my steps in the dark spots so I wouldn’t fall down into the half-dissolved leaves and tree pods. I might never get up from that.

I’ve been trying to process all the changes at work. Another person left. It’s getting to be a game of musical chairs, only there’s no music. The chairs just keep disappearing, and people getting called out.

I find my attitude slipping, even as I slip on the wet leaves on the pavement. It’s taking everything I have  – and then some – to stay positive.

I come back to this Scripture: And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28

I can’t see in these dark spots. But Jesus can. It’s unsafe for me to charge ahead into unfamiliar territory. I will slow down and let Him guide me.

 

One thought on “Dark Spots

Leave a Reply

