Amby Running

amby

I’m finding a new balance after not running the half marathon. I don’t need to push so hard, but I don’t want to stop running. How to find a balance? How to stay encouraged as the weather turns perpetually drippy? Our weather hasn’t turned cold. Only rainy. Temperatures range around mid 50s each day. Not too bad for running. Except for the coming down an inch an hour scenario. On those days, the treadmill comes in handy.

Amby Burfoot is one of my running heroes. He’s been running his whole life, even won the Boston Marathon one time. He’s 70 now. He’s won races and come back from injuries. He’s been there and done that. So I know his statements aren’t empty platitudes.

Image result for amby burfoot quote

Sounds a lot like…

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. – Hebrews 12:1

amby-brain

Doesn’t that parallel…

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. – Romans 12:2

Seasons of our lives change. Obligations ebb and flow. I’m getting back up again. I’m not giving up. I ran 2 miles on the machine today. I threw in some speed for fun. I remind myself that this body is part of God’s amazing creation. And I run because I can.

2 thoughts on “Amby Running

  1. Have you heard of Dr. Caroline Leaf? If not, you’d be interested to know that these are some of the same scriptures she uses to describe the exact thing you speak of regarding the mind, only as a brain scientist, she includes the science part behind the scriptures. I love it! It’s so cool to see how God is tying all things together and just how much He works the same themes, the same understandings, the same teachings, in those that desire to follow after Him! It really is amazing to me! I guess that’s why He’s God! lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

