Star Map

stars-black

When I left the house, my phone said it was 29 degrees. I stepped out onto glittery gravel. Everything sparkled under the dark sky. A half moon floated high above, throwing a faint light. The last fall leaves clung to the ground and winked at me, Jack Frost’s enormous art project.

I looked up and saw the stars. They glittered, too. In the past, mariners looked to the skies to guide them. They used compasses, of course, but they also sailed with star maps aboard. Those stars kept them on course and heading to Africa instead of Australia. Note: I’m not talking about this kind of star map.

star-map

As I ran – because I wasn’t outside for a stroll at that time of day – I considered how people act as stars in our lives. They guide us. They provide a certain ballast when we’re listing starboard. We have parents. They can help us find our way and curb our wayward sailing. Good friends point us in the right direction when we’re floundering.

Because life is not a 3-hour tour. It’s a trip around the world, from sea to shining sea. Storms pound us. Waves rise above us, towers of water threatening to capsize us. But sometimes, stars go out. Friends move on. Parents let us down. We might even feel as if the Lord has abandoned us, and we’re drifting rudderless in the open sea. Yet Jesus is always there, even when everyone else has jumped ship. Ultimately, the Lord provides the wisdom we need to stay on course in this life. His word brings light and truth.The best you can do in some situations is just keep paddling until help arrives.

Today, though, I’m thankful for all of you who have lighthoused me to safe harbor. Kind words, prayers, a listening ear, all of these have encouraged me of late. Your hearts are like stars that shine in the daytime. Thank you.

In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father. – Matthew 5:16

Leave a Reply

