Welcome, 2017!

Bring on the new beginnings! Starting today. Because yesterday turned out to be a rest day. Which happens when you actually make it to midnight on New Year’s Eve and you’re not in your 20s anymore.

Frankly, folks,  I got so discouraged during the fall, it’s taken me awhile to gather hope for a new year. I’m finally ready to take on 2017.

And so, let’s roll on.

I did the math. I worked out 260 times last year. That’s just over 71% of the year. It seems accurate, considering illnesses and just general weariness.

  • I’d like to push that to 300 or more this year. That averages out to about 6 days a week.

Also, I don’t find I have the time to put into training for half marathons right now. It’s not where I want to spend my precious free time. But I do want to up my annual mileage.

  • I want to run 750 miles this year.

That’s almost how far it would be to travel from Shelton to San Francisco, CA, one of my favorite cities. See?

shelton-to-san-fran

It’s actually 766 miles away from Shelton’s center, give or take a fraction of a mile. I can track how far I’ve gone as the year progresses. Who knows? Maybe I’ll make it all the way to San Jose.

In other news, I also want to…

  • Read the Bible through in a year. I did a devotional plan with commentary last year. It was alright. Yet I found I didn’t get enough of the Word in me. I’m going after it again this year. I need more wisdom and understanding. I can think of no better place to get it.

While we’re talking about Scripture, an old friend of mine posted on Facebook that she sought the Lord each year for a scripture to meditate on, and another one that would motivate her actions for the year. I loved this idea and decided to jump on it myself. I haven’t gotten the meditation one yet, but I believe the motivational one is this:

A cheerful heart is good medicine,
    but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength. – Proverbs 17:22

  • I want to be someone who brings encouragement and refreshing to those around me. Every day we learn of some fresh horrors. The future can look bleak, especially this time of year with spring so very far off and Christmas a fading memory. This means, of course, that I need to mind how I speak and think. If I complain or join in the gossiping, I’m only bringing the general tone down. I also realize this will take time and effort. I can start again when I mess up.

Yet I still dare to hope
    when I remember this:

 The faithful love of the Lord never ends!
    His mercies never cease.
Great is his faithfulness;
    his mercies begin afresh each morning. – Lamentations 3:21-23

We *can* start again, right where we are. The new year is a great time to do it, but truly, any day of the week will do. What are some of your goals? Do you make resolutions? I would love to hear from you.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

