Tags

, , ,

I’ve been thinking about how our standards have changed over time. For instance, Twiggy emerged as the beauty standard in the 1960s.

Twiggy.jpg

A lovely gal, yet her dimensions set off a chain reaction in women everywhere: how can I look like that? Her iconic slenderness changed the course of modeling. Models used to look like this:

1950s-model

Where did the curves go?!

Anyway.

Skinny jeans still rule the fashion world. I even have a couple of pairs, though they have yet to make me any skinnier. Right now, boots are everywhere. Living in the Pacific Northwest, cute little Audrey Hepburn-style flats prove impractical except for about a month a year. Boots make sense. You can wear them at least 7 months of the year.

One of my friends informed me leggings have fallen out of vogue. His wife tried to wear them and his daughter, a high school senior, told her to go change. “Mom, leggings are so last year.” I’ll let you imagine the sigh and eye roll accompanying that announcement.

Granted, I don’t live in the fashion capital of the world. People still wear pajamas to the store upon occasion. But I look around, and the changes don’t only apply to beauty standards. Spanking lost favor long ago. Timeouts and “safe places” are in. The popularity of gas-guzzling SUVs has been superseded by more economical cars as the price of gas and political correctness pressure continues to rise. Just peek at reality TV to see who and what we admire now. I won’t even mention the Kardashians.

So many things change on a regular basis. It’s hard to keep up. Heck, even our scale weighs me 8 lbs. heavier if I move it out of its sweet spot. But Jesus doesn’t vary. He is who He says He is, every day of the year. I find peace and comfort in the fact that His word never changes. His love is unfailing, even when everything around me spins out of control. Meanwhile I’ll hold onto the earrings I wore in high school. Hey, they still fit me! Maybe they’ll be cool again someday.

For the word of the Lord holds true,
    and we can trust everything he does.
He loves whatever is just and good;
    the unfailing love of the Lord fills the earth. – Psalm 33:4-5

 

 

 

 

 

 

