Tags

, , , ,

clock

I needed to run today. I must confess, however, that my right hip has been acting up again. Runs haven’t been long or fast due to the kinks that crop up.

A full moon shone down as I walked down the driveway. A few over-achieving stars added their twinkle to the dark sky. The early morning air stood at 22 degrees. Shelton had become an enormous deep freeze. Despite all the warnings of snowstorms, we’ve had but a couple of dustings over the last 2 weeks. Vancouver and areas to the south of us have gotten many inches, especially Portland. Yes, I’m a little jealous.

I crunched along the gravel drive, then hit the pavement. It felt good to get outside and out of my head. I don’t know about you, but sometimes it can feel like things are stuck. I have several projects at work that need to move forward, only I’m waiting for others to get back to me. We have a few items from our home inspection (yay, our house sold!) that we need to repair. That takes scheduling contractor’s time as well as (gulp!) money. We’re also waiting for our house’s appraisal, which could take weeks. Sigh.

I’m all too familiar with the limbo place, the in-between area. I’ve heard it described recently as caught between the “tick” and the “tock”, the sweep of a clock’s second hand. It’s when you can see what will be. But you’re not quite there yet.

I have a bad habit of always looking to the future and not enjoying the now. I need to rest and trust that God is working things out behind the scenes. The “now” is that we’re still in our house. We live in a cozy neighborhood, in a quiet backstreet. The kids are healthy, funny and kind. Jonathon and I get to use our gifts in our jobs and our church. We’re all on this adventure together.  It’s not over yet. Life in Christ is good, even in limbo.

We also pray that you will be strengthened with all his glorious power so you will have all the endurance and patience you need. May you be filled with joy…Colossians 1:11

 

