Tags

, , , ,

hero

I’ve been thinking about heroes lately. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday was yesterday. We consider him a hero and honor him by giving him an entire day each year. It’s fitting. He headed up a movement that helped shape our country.

We celebrate other heroes, too. President’s Day commemorates both Lincoln and Washington. Veteran’s Day celebrates those who have served; Memorial Day celebrates those who died while serving. We have Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. We look up to most all of these people, in one way or another. We need people to admire. We need someone to pattern our lives after. We need the inspiration, the guidance and direction.

We talked about superpowers during our game night.

“What superpower would you like to have?” I put to the family.

“Teleportation,” Ruby said, without hesitation. “You could snap your fingers and be in France,” she said. “Or Paris.”

This provided an opportunity for me to tell her Paris is *in* France. Been there. Guess we need to work a bit on geography.

So, what is a hero?

he·roˈ hirō/
noun: hero; plural noun: heroes; noun: hero sandwich; plural noun: hero sandwiches
a person who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities.”a war hero”(in mythology and folklore) a person of superhuman qualities and often semidivine origin, in particular one of those whose exploits and dealings with the gods were the subject of ancient Greek myths and legend
Or –North American: another term for submarine sandwich.
    • Just to be clear: although delicious, we’re not talking about sandwiches here.

I pick and choose heroes with care. I’m pretty independent. I won’t take any hero who is foisted upon me. I’m not impressed by wealth or social status. Heck, I live in Shelton. People often come here to hide, not to be seen. I don’t think all heroes have superpowers, however.

My pantheon of heroes is very small. I have to believe I’m not alone.  Jonathon is up there, too. He’s the sunny-side up guy who gives and serves everyone. Plus, he’s funny, smart and cute. A couple of close friends have talked me off ledges and wooed me back to normalcy when things got nutty. That, to me, shows heroism. The courage to stay with someone when it all falls apart shows nobility.

Which is why, in the end, Jesus is the ultimate hero. He knows me and loves me. He’s there for me all the time, every day, whether I’m on my best behavior or a complete brat. He doesn’t even need a cape. He’ll be there for you, too, if you let Him.

