Spring Change

life change

(source)

I apologize. It’s like I fell off the face of the earth.  I didn’t. I needed some time to think…and run. Last week, I resigned from my position with the City. It was a tough decision. I love those people. Shelton has many dedicated, talented public servants. Ultimately, it was the right thing to do. I wasn’t the best fit for the job. Someone else will be.

It’s felt like a free-fall, because I don’t know what’s next. I want to thank all of those who have supported me. Most of them won’t see this. But you have no idea how your texts, phone calls, emails and real time conversations have encouraged me and helped me to dream again. I keep running into ladies I haven’t seen in months, or really talked to in years. It’s like God has been saying, “See? You are loved. I’ve got you.”

The threads of my old life beckon. Writer’s group. Kettlebells. Blogging. Coffees and lunches with friends, no time limit attached to them. I relish the opportunity to breathe and reconnect with my kids and husband. I’ve missed them so much. Both of the kids will transition into new phases of life come fall. Zac heads off to college in August. Ruby will enter middle school in September. I’m savoring these moments before it all changes.

For now, I’m downshifting into home life. I thank God He holds the future and knows all the bends in the road. Right now, I can see all the way to the horizon. I’m looking forward to what’s next.

The Lord is my shepherd;
    I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows;
    he leads me beside peaceful streams. – Psalm 23:1-2

2 thoughts on “Spring Change

Leave a Reply

