First Week

calendar week

I’m sitting outside in the blessed cool. With several days hovering near 100 degrees, these mornings help keep us Pacific Northwesterners from losing our minds.  Smoke from nearby wildfires have created a light smog in the area. The blazing salmon-colored sun rises in the hazy pink east. I find myself praying for rain.

Today ends the first week of work for me at Thurston County. Okay, I started on Tuesday. It still counts. I’ve learned a few things.

Central Services maintains the County’s buildings. They also build new buildings. Hence the project I’m working on, which is the jail extension, aka the flex unit. If you work in Central Services,  the only way to get there is to take the elevator in Building 1 down to the basement. That’s it. No stairs. It’s kind of “Get Smart”. Cue the music.

But my desk isn’t in the Courthouse Complex. I’m in another building, on the other side of the highway. The project manager and I are housed next to the jail. Somebody escaped from the mental health facility, also on site, on the first day. They just pushed the gate open and took off. Since only the project manager and I inhabit the office, we’re keeping the door locked.

I’ve been to several trainings on benefits, harassment avoidance, and safe driving. I’ve also met the County Commissioners. What’s fascinating is that they don’t operate much differently than the City of Shelton. I learned a lot  – projects, purchasing, records – and got a good foundation at the City. I’m grateful. I can take that anywhere in the state and use it.

Thank you to everyone who has prayed and encouraged me. You helped make this week wonderful. Let the adventure continue! Thanks be to God.

And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns. – Philippians 1:6